Ten of my Favourite Free tools

I recently joined Problogger’s 31 Days to Building a Better Blog Challenge.  Today’s assignment is to write a list post – so here it is:

  1. Firefox web browser:  Loads of features, moveable tabs, add-ons …
  2. Google Reader:  I use this every day.  An RSS feeder which keeps you up to date on all your favourite websites in one place.
  3. Google Notebook:  Browse websites, clip text or website link and organize information in one location.
  4. Google Mail: Easy to use, built in chat, lots of storage space and so many Apps …
  5. Adblock Plus:  Blocks ads and pop ups on websites, which means faster loading sites.  Also stops you accidentally clicking on your own Adsense ads.
  6. Foxit Reader:  Have you ever tried to open a PDF document in Adobe and it either takes ages to open or freezes your PC?  This is a breeze.  It’s small and fast.  A must have Firefox add-on.
  7. Video Download helper:  Download and convert videos from many video sites.  I love it.  I can now take tutorial videos on the go.
  8. Fox Clocks:  Keep an eye on times around the world.  No need to calculate whether people times are behind or in front of you.
  9. Snippy:  This tool lets you take snapshots of part of a screen, copies it to clipboard for use in any document.
  10. YouTube videos:    I use this a lot to find video tutorials on topics I am interested in.

Are there other great tools you would like to share?    Let me know in your comments.

5 responses to “Ten of my Favourite Free tools

  1. Sindy,

    I am also enjoying and learning from the 31DBBB, and would like to provide my support and constructive criticism. I definitely feel that your list can definitely come in very handy, however, I also feel that it is a bit too vague. I think that you could have made it better by simply providing more details in the descriptions.

    Again, I am not criticizing. I am simply attempting to help a fellow blogger. Please feel free to visit my list post at http://www.jma-daily.com/2009/04/5-reasons-linux-will-never-be-better.html and express your opinion in the comments.

    Look forward to hearing from you.

  2. Thanks Juscelino, I really appreciate your feedback.

  3. Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for sharing. I’ll certainly be subscribing to your site.

  4. Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll likely be subscribing to your blog. Keep up the good work

  5. Thanks for your kind comments

Leave a Reply

